profiles

Q&A with Emily Couch

12052661_1579039199084838_8003353587795458927_o
Couch worked at the Boys and Girls’ Club of Greene County, Tennessee last summer. I volunteered with her in the spring.

Emily Couch is a sophomore education major at East Tennessee State University. She is originally from Greeneville, Tennessee, and was home schooled until her freshman year of college. Couch decided to become an education major because she loves children and gained experience with them through the Boys and Girls Club.

Q: What made you decide to be an education major?

A: I decided to be an education major because I wanted to make a difference in students’ lives. I first thought about being an education major my senior year of high school and officially decided my freshman year of college.

Q: What education classes have you taken thus far? Which do you think will be the most beneficial in your own classroom?

A: I have taken Orientation to the Profession of Education, Foundations of Teaching, Exceptional Learners in Schools and Communities, Number Concepts and Algebraic Structure, Logic, Problem Solving and Geometry, Wildlife Conservation and Current Issues in 21st Century Literacy. I believe Current Issues in 21st Century Literacy will be the most beneficial because it has helped me learn how to teach the importance of reading.

Q: What type of students/subjects do you hope to work with in the future?

A: I would like to work with primary care and possibly [Comprehensive Development Classrooms].

Q: How do you intend to run your future classroom?

A: I want my classroom to be a place for learning and exploring. I want my students to love learning and to always be eager to grow their minds. I will use a lot of hands-on activities, along with lectures and participation.

Q: How do you plan on addressing behavioral issues, should any arise?

A: I will have a list of rules in my classroom that will be [reviewed] at the beginning of the year. Also, I will be sure the students know what is expected of them and what happens if they break the rules. I would first address the student, and then if that did not work, I would meet with the parents.

Q: What is the most important thing you have learned in your education courses so far?

A: That every student learns differently and that every student can learn.

Q: In your opinion, what is the most important attribute of a good teacher?

A: I think the most important attribute of a teacher is patience and compassion. A good teacher should love learning and be a good role model for her students.

Q: Many people say teaching is a “calling.” Do you agree with this statement?

A: I do agree with this statement. I believe teaching is a calling because you have to have certain drive or passion to teach effectively and come up with ways to teach children in a way they understand.

Q: How do you feel about state testing? Do you think it helps or hurts your students?

A: I think state testing hurts students because it’s based on a generic skill level and not the student’s overall knowledge. The student may struggle in one area but be completely brilliant in another, or he or she may not do well with that kind of test. [The students] might be different types of learners.

Q: What do you hope to accomplish after graduation?

A: I hope to teach at a local elementary school and help students reach their goals, encouraging them when no one else will.

Leave a Reply

