profiles

Q&A with Mitchel Ball

Mitchell Ball is a sophomore from Crossville, Tennessee attending East Tennessee State University. He is pursuing a major in history with a minor in secondary education. He intends to graduate in 2019.

IMG_6332
Ball is also a member of the Well, a nondenominational campus ministry.

Q: What made you decide to be an education minor?

A: I really looked up to my basketball coach, who happened to be a teacher. He easily had one of the biggest impacts in my life. This was around my junior and senior year in high school, so from then on I wanted to be a teacher.

Q: What education classes have you taken thus far?

A: I’ve taken the introduction to the teaching profession. It was the most important simply because it gave me an in-depth look at what teaching will be like.

Q: How do you intend to run your future classroom?

A: I want to have a mixture of lectures and presentations to keep the kids’ attention in the classroom. I would also like to show some videos to reinforce the concepts being taught. There will also be group projects to get kids to learn how to work with each other.

Q: How do you plan on addressing behavioral issues should any arise?

A: I plan to be firm in the consequences I will lay out at the beginning of the year, whether that be talking the individual or harsher [punishments] such as office referrals or detentions.

Q: What is the most important thing you have learned in your education courses so far?

A: The most important thing I have learned is that I cannot teach each person the same way because not everyone learns the same way.

Q: What is the most important attribute of a good teacher?

A: The most important attribute a teacher can have is to always be [continuously] learning [yourself]. You never want to be that teacher that doesn’t know what they are talking about. It will always show through to the kids.

Q: Is teaching a calling?

A: Many people have that natural ability to help others in a way most people cannot. They have that ability get things across to others in a way that sticks with them for the rest of their lives.

Q: How do you feel about state testing?

A: I think state testing is a good thing because it gives the students something to work for at the end of the year. It also gives the teacher a great incentive to work diligently each day.

Q: What do you hope to accomplish after graduation?

A: I hope to get a teaching job in my hometown and eventually start a family. Lord willing, I can teach my own kids someday!

Leave a Reply

